Murphysboro Drums at Appletime: Murphysboro, IL - September 14, 2013

Select a year:

Grand Champion: Waterloo

Parade JH:

DuQuoin Middle School, IL

Pinckneyville Jr. High, IL

Anna Jr. High, IL

Parade B:

Cobden, IL

Egyptian, IL


Parade 1A:

J.O. Johnson, AL

Harrisburg, IL

Kelly, MO

Pinckneyville Community

Parade 2A:

Potosi, MO

Civic Memorial

Parade 3A:


Field 1A:

58.600 Sparta (Percussion, Drum Major)

52.200 Pinckneyville Community (Auxiliary)

46.000 Anna-Jonesboro

35.400 Kelly, MO

Field 2A:

58.900 Potosi, MO (Percussion, Auxiliary)

55.300 Carterville (Drum Major)

Field 3A:

73.800 Waterloo (Percussion, Auxiliary, Drum Major)

68.700 Marion

65.500 Carbondale

63.000 McCracken County, KY

Contact Information:

Nick Williams
Festival Website



Originally begun as a Drum and Bugle Corps show, the Murphysboro Drums at Appletime competition is a premier competition hosting bands from Illinois, Missouri, Indiana, Kentucky, and Iowa consistently drawing around 5,000 spectators. In an effort to be responsive to the needs of bands early in the season the show features a critique and review session for band directors and their staff with the judges immediately following the competition. A Grand Champion is crowned combining the parade and field show scores.

The show will begin at 4:30 P.M.

Blank Score Sheet

Want to try to score the bands for this festival yourself?
Click here to download a blank score sheet!

Judging Panel

Music Execution: Mike Hanes
General Effect: Craig Ryterski
Visual Execution Juan Black
Percussion: Chris Cooper
Color Guard: Alan Willingham
Drum Major: Marc Henshaw

Music Execution: Mike Hanes
Music General Effect: Deb Burris
Visual Execution: Juan Black
Visual General Effect: Craig Ryterski
Percussion: Chris Cooper
Auxiliary: Alan Willingham
Drum Major: Marc Henshaw
Overall Effect Clinician: Dave Boggs:
Overall Effect Clinician: TBA

Performance Schedule:

Printer Friendly Schedule

11:00 AM: Murphysboro
11:10 AM: Murphysboro Middle School

Class B
11:20 AM: Egyptian, IL
11:30 AM: Trico
11:40 AM: Cobden, IL

11:50 AM: Break

Class 1A
12:00 PM: J.O. Johnson, AL
12:10 PM: Pinckneyville Community
12:20 PM: Kelly, MO
12:30 PM: Harrisburg, IL

12:40 PM: Break

Class 2A
12:50 PM: Civic Memorial
1:00 PM: Potosi, MO

1:10 PM: Break

Class 3A
1:20 PM: Waterloo

1:30 PM: Break

Class JH
1:40 PM: Anna Jr. High, IL
1:50 PM: Pinckneyville Jr. High, IL
2:00 PM: DuQuoin Middle School, IL

2:30 PM: Awards
Class 1A
4:30 PM: Kelly, MO
4:45 PM: Anna-Jonesboro
5:00 PM: Pinckneyville Community
5:15 PM: Sparta

5:30 PM: Break

Class 2A
5:45 PM: Carterville
6:00 PM: Potosi, MO

6:15 PM: Break

Class 3A
6:30 PM: Marion
6:45 PM: Carbondale
7:00 PM: McCracken County, KY
7:15 PM: Waterloo

7:30 PM: Murphysboro

7:45 PM: Awards

Festival Address - 50 Blackwood Dr., Murphysboro, IL 62966

Get Driving Directions

Last Updated On: 09-09-2013